MENU

newjerseyinformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


New Jersey Education Center

New Jersey traffic school and other drivers education programs are available for motorists with various driving backgrounds and skill levels. The courses and educational opportunities offered to drivers are meant to prepare them for tests and give them the confidence required to pass those exams. The drivers license test ensures that all state drivers are familiar with traffic laws, understand basic driving practices and can react well to real-life situations on the road. Studying for the written and road exams is an essential part of receiving a valid driver’s license and learners permit. While drivers may find all the information present on the exams in the DMV drivers handbook provided by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), they are encouraged to supplement their studies with practice tests and schooling. Drivers ed, for example, is a required educational course that features in-car instruction, whereas a DMV practice exam focuses on the written portion of the licensing exams. Not only do driving classes and practice exams prepare drivers for their license exams, but they can also help drivers in many other ways. For instance, drivers should use driving instruction and specialized courses to learn how to improve their driving skills and drive in poor weather conditions, reduce insurance costs and decrease penalties associated with traffic tickets. Drivers may find affordable traffic school options, other driving courses and official practice tests that meet their needs by searching online. Learn more about New Jersey driver’s education opportunities and other motor vehicle education resources in the following pages.

Driver Tests Overview in New Jersey

Residents must pass a drivers test in New Jersey before they may obtain a first-time driving license through the state Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). In addition to passing a drivers license test, residents must complete a knowledge examination and a vision screening. However, certain written drivers test exemptions apply if applicants are younger than 18 years of age and pass the knowledge exam while in high school. Furthermore, the written drivers exam is a requirement if students do not pass their knowledge test in high school or they are older than 18 years of age. After passing a written drivers ed test and a vision screening, applicants may complete their road demonstration. After passing the driving test, applicants may apply for a probationary license through the MVC. After passing the drivers exam and meeting all other application requirements, residents must obtain a probationary license before they may apply for a basic driving credential. Read More

New Jersey DMV Practice Tests

A New Jersey DMV practice exam can help first-time driving license applicants to pass their knowledge test and road demonstration on the first try. If motorists do not complete a DMV driving practice test before completing their knowledge exam, they may fail their written examination, which will delay the entire process of obtaining a learner permit and probationary license. For this reason, it is important to complete a DMV practice test before taking a written knowledge exam through the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). Additionally, a driving practice test can help new motorists obtain the information they need to pass their road test as well. With a driver practice test, students can gauge their driving knowledge and study the DMV drivers handbook for as long as necessary until they are ready to complete their written examination. To get started, students can complete an online practice test here. Read More

New Jersey Traffic School

New Jersey DMV traffic school includes a voluntary defensive driving course, a mandatory driver improvement program (DIP) and a probationary course (PDP). However, each of these traffic school options serves a different purpose. For instance, the PDP course is available to probationary drivers who commit two or more moving violations worth a total of four or more demerit points. While a PDP driving course is available to probationary motorists, the DIP program is often a requirement if licensed motorists accumulate between 12 and 14 traffic points in a two-year period. If motorists do not complete driving classes, however, they may lose their driver license. Furthermore, defensive driving classes are completely voluntary courses and are not a substitute for a DIP or PDP program. In most cases, motorists may enroll in traffic school online if they wish to take a voluntary course or a mature driver class. However, the online driving school must be state-approved. Read More

New Jersey Drivers Education

Drivers ed in New Jersey is a requirement if residents wish to apply for a special learner permit at 16 years of age. As such, these drivers education requirements are a part of the state Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. As part of these teen driving school requirements, applicants must complete behind-the-wheel training in a dual-controlled vehicle. Furthermore, driving lessons are not a requirement if residents wish to obtain an examination permit at 17 years of age or older. However, driving classes can help first-time motorists to better prepare for their driver license knowledge test and road demonstration as well. For this reason, an NJ driver safety course is beneficial even if it is not a GDL requirement. Furthermore, motorists who do not take a licensed driving course or complete behind-the-wheel instruction must still practice operating a motor vehicle with a supervising driver before they may obtain a probationary license. However, specific licensing requirements vary by age. Read More

It might also interest you: