is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

DUIs in New Jersey

New Jersey DUI and DWI charges result when someone operates a vehicle after consuming intoxicants. Drivers often avoid learning about DUI information and rarely ask themselves, “What happens if you get a DUI?” until after they find themselves charged with drunk driving. DUI laws in New Jersey are very stringent in order to discourage people from committing such offenses. Consequences can entail things such as fines, incarceration and almost certainly a lengthy suspension of driving privileges. Getting a DUI for a second time brings more severe penalties upon a conviction. A DUI lawyer can be of the most assistance for such situations, as a DUI attorney is trained and experienced in fighting related charges. Retaining a DWI lawyer is highly advisable even for drivers who have been charged with DUI violations and decide not to contest the charges. Residents can find a New Jersey DUI lawyer here. Hiring an experienced and competent attorney for DWI charges can help reduce the consequences or even get clients out of suffering those penalties entirely. More drunk driving information can be found in the sections below.

New Jersey DUI and DWI Tickets

New Jersey motorists can find themselves charged with a DUI if they are pulled over and test positive for consumption of alcohol or other intoxicants. A DUI charge will result if drivers meet the legal definition of DUI and DWI with regards to drinking alcohol, which is having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. DUI penalties may also result when the police officer who tests a motorist’s sobriety determines he or she is too impaired to drive safely and guilty of intoxicated driving, regardless of the BAC. DUI consequences can arise from actions such as weaving back and forth on the road, going too fast or slow or other inappropriate actions behind the wheel that cause an officer to stop drivers and test them for intoxication. New Jersey DUI laws make submitting to field sobriety tests and breathalyzer tests a mandatory component when a drivers accepts his or her license. The laws include provisions for those who refuse any of these tests. Laws for DWI in New Jersey allow officers to obtain a court order after an arrest to enforce testing blood samples for the purposes of measuring a driver’s BAC for intoxication. Being charged with DUI or DWI results in arrest and going to jail. The authorities will not let motorists drive home while impaired and will impound their vehicles. For more drunk driving information, motorists should seek legal counsel, which can be found by clicking here.

DUI Penalties in New Jersey

New Jersey DUI consequences are quite forceful. The first offense for DUI and DWI convictions with a BAC of between 0.08 and 0.10 percent include penalties of a fine of up to $400, up to 30 days in jail, a three-month suspension of your driver’s license, alcohol education and a $1,000 surcharge on your auto insurance for three years. Getting a DUI a second time increases penalties to fines of up to $1,000, incarceration of two to 90 days and a two-year suspension of your license. Consequences for a second DUI also include alcohol education, a $1,000 surcharge on your insurance for three years and a locking device on your ignition for one to three years. The third time you get a DWI conviction, you will face a $1,000 fine, 180 days in jail and a 10-year suspension of your license. Additional DUI penalties include detainment in in-patient alcohol abuse treatment, an insurance surcharge of $1,500 for three years and an ignition interlock system on your car for up to three years once your license is reinstated. DWI penalties increase if your BAC exceeds 0.10 percent and again when it is over 0.15 percent. The consequences for a DWI also increase for use of certain intoxicants or if you have a minor in your vehicle at the time. To get help with drunk driving charges in New Jersey, find a DUI lawyer here.

Hiring a DWI Attorney in New Jersey

DUI charges are serious even when there is no property or bodily harm. Consequences for DWI when there is damage to property or person can be even harsher. In any instance of arrest, hire a DUI attorney immediately. You can use the internet to research lawyers and law firms that specialize in DUI arrests and read reviews and testimonials. You can find a New Jersey DUI lawyer here. Make sure your legal counsel specializes in DUIs, as such experience will be necessary when fighting the charges in court.

It might also interest you: